1. We want your script! The 3rd Annual Screenwriting Goldmine Contest is now open for entries. Cash prizes and meetings with our stellar judging panel of genuinely powerful industry figures. CLICK HERE for more information.

What do you do when you think your ideas are rubbish?

Discussion in 'Screenwriting' started by Youngy, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Youngy

Youngy Bronze Member

Hey everyone,
    I have been writing for a couple of years now and every time I approach a new idea, I always have some self doubt and go through the same phase with every project when I think about writing it which is 'this is rubbish, why on earth did you ever think you could become a writer?' and this thought circles around my head.

I am sure this is pretty natural for a lot of writers but does this happen to you? What makes you carry on past this self doubt? How do you get over it?

I thought it would be an interesting topic.
    Thanks.
  2. mr wendal

mr wendal Bronze Member

If you can not see if your idea is rubbish before you start to write it down there is probably something wrong with your writing and not with the idea.
    I know that an idea in your head is sometimes better than it looks on paper. It is not easy to get the idea on paper just like it was in your head but nobody said it was easy, was there? Do it and keep doing it and if you have the required talent you will get the hang of it.
  3. Jack

Jack Bronze Member

Like acting, usually your performance isn't as bad as you think it is.

Bounce the ideas off someone intelligent and you'll probably find you're being too hard on yourself.
  4. Kafka

Kafka Bronze Member

I'm finishing up the first draft of a screenplay and I'm not feeling very pleased with it. Feels like I could have written something stronger.
  5. jtabergas

jtabergas Bronze Member