1. Find out more about the Screenwriting Goldmine step by step guide to writing a screenplay... CLICK HERE for more information.

How to signify the passage of time in a scene

Discussion in 'Screenwriting' started by E43000, Nov 2, 2011.

1. E43000

E43000 Bronze Member

hi everybody,

I was just wondering if anyone could help me out with how exactly I correctly signify the passage of time in a single scene.

The scene, quite simply, entails my main character speed-dating. In my script, I want to show him at different tables talking to different women over a brief period of time. He introduces himself as having a different profession each time.

Would this make sense?

--------------------------------------
    INT. TOWN HALL - NIGHT

Paul is out speed-dating...

Paul
    Hello, my name is Paul. I am a doctor...

A BELL sounds.

TIME CUT TO:

Paul is now at another table with another girl.

PAUL
    Hello, I’m Paul. I’m an architect.

A BELL sounds.

TIME CUT TO:

Paul is, again, at another table with another women.

PAUL
    I’m Paul. I’m a millionairre.
    ------------------------------------------------

Any help would be much appreciated.
  2. youdothatvoodoo

youdothatvoodoo Bronze Member

You wouldn't even need the 'Hello...' intro. Just cut from the first intro to the different careers that he claims. Should add to the humour, too.

youdothatvoodoo
  3. GingerBlue

GingerBlue Bronze Member

I would get the 40 Year Old Virgin script and see exactly how they've done the speed dating scene there. Google it - it's easy to find.
  4. N4TH4N

N4TH4N Bronze Member