1. Find out more about the Screenwriting Goldmine step by step guide to writing a screenplay... CLICK HERE for more information.

How do you outline your screenplays?

Discussion in 'Screenwriting' started by Wilkinson, Jun 10, 2011.

1. Wilkinson

Wilkinson Bronze Member

I'm very new to the screenplay format and am trying to learn as much as I can about good habits and how to avoid beginners' pitfalls. I have a very rough idea of my story and characters but I'm hesitant to sit down and start typing out the first scene because I feel that really fleshing out the story and scenes, plot arcs and all that would allow me to have a much stronger first draft than just plowing through the story with the rough idea I have now.

I'm sure it's been discussed before but I wonder if anyone has any tricks or methods they've been using to help devise an outline for their screenplay. Many thanks!
  2. amp502

amp502 Bronze Member

There's a billion different ways, and whatever anyone tells you, there's no "right" or "best" way. But instead of talking about how you CAN do it, I'll share how I do it:

I make a physical horizontal line on a piece of paper. I label one end 0 and the other 120, then divide it into quarters, 30/60/90. (I prefer something of a 4-act structure). Then I label each 0/30/60/90/120 with a major scene, a turning point or reveal for my story, and in the four sections I write some notes about the overall arc of the section (0-30 might say "Protag. starts out normal life, head of his business, 30-60 might say protag kicked out of business, is depressed).

Then I'll make new lines on separate pages for each section, and divide those up into 5-page groups, where I'll label specific scenes, keeping the topics from before (protag is depressed, searches for job) to remind me what the scenes need to relate to. So I've got one page that's labeled 0-30, and a tally mark on the line for every five pages, 0-5, 5-10, 10-15, etc. with scenes written in for each five pages.